Pearl Knowledge

The following factors are most recognized for determining pearl’s value:

Type

There are four main types of cultured pearls in the market today, each exquisitely unique in character. They are South Sea Pearl, Akoya Pearl, Tahitian Pearl and Freshwater Pearl.

Size

Size of pearl greatly depends on the size of the pearl oyster, hence the type of pearl. Freshwater pearls range in size from about 3.0-7.0mm, Akoya pearls range from about 6.0-8.0mm, while South Sea and Tahitian pearls would range from about 11.0-14.0mm. Price increases with the size. If a pearl size exceeds the normal range of its specific type, its value could go up exponentially.

Color

Main color of a pearl is called the body colour. Typical colors includes white, yellow, pink, silver or black. A pearl can also have a hint of secondary color, named overtone. It is seen when light reflects off the pearl surface. For example, a pearl may appear white in general, but a pink overtone may become apparent when examined more closely.

Luster

Luster is what gives a pearl its unique beauty. The thicker the nacre layer, the better the pearl’s ability to reflect light. Richness of luster is also attributed to smoothness of pearl surface, evenness of nacre layer, and content of impurities. Higher luster, greater pearl value.

Shape

The closer to a true sphere, the higher the value of pearl. Shapes that are not spherical nor symmetrical are considered inferior. However, non-spherical pearls are sometimes used in special jewelry designs that appeal to many people.

Surface Quality

Flaws naturally arise during pearl’s formation, spots and bubbles easily appear in the layering process. Therefore, most pearls never achieve perfection. Highest-quality pearls are those with the smoothest surfaces and fewer number of flaws. Serious flaws might have impact on a pearl’s value and even hardness.

匯豐信用卡免息分期

珍珠知識

珍珠的價值主要取決於以下因素:

品種

天然珍珠主要分為南洋珍珠、大溪地珍珠、Akoya珍珠等海水珍珠以及淡水珍珠,而品種很大程度上影響了大小及顏色。

大小

珍珠的大小很大程度上取決於母貝本身的呎吋,換言之是取決於其品種。淡水珍珠一般約為 3.0 至 7.0 毫米,Akoya 珍珠一般為 6.0 至 8.0 毫米,而南洋珍珠及大溪地珍珠一般可達 11.0至14.0 毫米。珍珠愈大價值愈高,而超過了該品種的一般大小,價格往往是幾何級增加的。

成色

珍珠的成色取決於主色和伴色,它們可分為白﹑黃﹑粉紅﹑銀或黑等等。主色是指珍珠的主要色調,而伴色就是當光線從珍珠表面反射出來時可見的色調。例如一顆看起來是白色的珍珠,在光線照射下細看,呈粉紅色的伴色才變得較明顯。顏色喜好因人而異,一般以白色及白帶粉紅色最受歡迎﹙除黑珍珠外﹚。

光澤

光澤是珍珠層裡的細小碳酸鈣結晶反射出來的光芒,所以珍珠層愈厚,反射光線的能力愈高,光澤愈強,質量愈好。除珍珠層的厚度及均勻性外,珍珠表面的光滑度或含不純物的程度,都與其光澤關係密切。優質珍珠的光澤定必極佳。

形狀

圓形是品質最高且最罕有的珍珠形狀,價值往往最高。其他不對稱的形狀,例如近圓形、橢圓形或饅頭形等,通常被視為較低質。

瑕疵

由於珍珠是由母貝天然養成,珍珠層的結層過程中可能出現氣泡或瑕點,所以並不一定均勻地形成。如果瑕疵極其細微且可以通過鑽孔或鑲嵌掩飾,那它對珍珠的外觀與價值的影響則較少。如果瑕疵非常多或嚴重,便會影響珍珠的價值,甚至堅固性。

匯豐信用卡免息分期